2017 National Indie Excellence Awards



The prestigious National Indie Excellence® Awards is an award contest open to recent English language books in print from independent, university, and self-publishers. Judging is now complete for the 12th year of this contest and the results celebrate a spectacular range of titles.

The National Indie Excellence® Awards celebrate independent publishing as a strong and proud facet of the publishing industry. Recognizing authors and publishers hard work, NIEA is a champion of self-publishers and the small or independent presses that go the extra mile to produce books of excellence in every aspect. Established in 2007, the NIEA competition is judged by experts from all facets of the book industry including publishers, writers, editors, book designers and professional copywriters.

Winners and finalists are determined on a basis of presentation in every facet of the published product. Jurors value a synergy of both form and content as they review entries spanning a wide range of genres; sponsorship awards and monetary prizes are selected from the overall group of Winners and Finalists.

“We are proud to announce this year’s award-winning books as they embody the excellence this award was created to celebrate. We salute you all for such fine work!” – Ellen Reid, Founder NIEA

Link to list of the 12th Annual NIEA Finalists:


What the National Indie Excellence Awards had to say about The Passion of Marta:

May 22, 2018


It is our great pleasure to inform you that you are a Finalist in the 12th Annual National Indie Excellence® Awards.  Your book truly embodies the excellence that this award was created to celebrate, and we salute you and your fine work.

The team at the National Indie Excellence® Awards sincerely hope your participation in our contest will serve you well in your ongoing success.  You have our deepest congratulations.


Everyone at the National Indie Excellence® Awards